Shadowrun Pub

• April 25, 2024, 12:55:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Our meatbots have been missing since '98!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Running an SR4 game  (Read 8749 times)

bull30548

• Grunt
  • I'm a llama!
Running an SR4 game
« on: May 31, 2012, 05:36:33 AM »

Okay so I have been contemplating running an SR4 game for my gaming group.  However my gaming group isn't really very good at SR.  So I am going to describe what they play and hopefully some of you can help me make sure that SR4 game stays near the fundamentals but is still fun.  I have a classic combat monster this guy likes answering most things with firepower (be it magical or material) however it is not always tactically sound or superior in some cases.  I have this niche guy he likes playing characters that are useful as long as they are in their comfort zone.  When I was playing I was the tactics guy I was the one that came up with strategies (that went out the window with the other party members involved) and ideas.  I had another player who knows how to RUN this guy been playing since first edition and has played or ran everything under the sun.  He is the best one of us in the group.  I have another that is a skill monkey but doesn't get that having a ton of skills doesn't necessarily being the best option.  A good example is when he ripped my head off for sending drones into a building for recon instead of letting his character do it.  Even though I pointed out the drones were faster and efficient but they were expendable as his character wasn't.  He just didn't like it.  Now I have 2 new players to RPG's who are interested but need to learn still.  And then my final member is just content to game, she doesn't optimize build or anything she just comes up with a concept and runs with it.